School of Communications 2023-2024 Standing Committees

August 2023

These committees have both staff and faculty representation and help with the shared governance of the School. Each department will have representation on most committees, with the exception of the staff committee, which is exclusive to staff. Department Chairs led in the appointment of faculty to serve on these committees. These committees should consider carefully meeting frequency. To promote continuity, committee assignments are for two-year periods.

ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Tony Weaver (chair), Dave Bockino (MEA), Vanessa Bravo (STC), Anthony Hatcher (JOU), Ben Hannam (CDE), Vic Costello (COM), Derek Lackaff (IME), Cara Lucia (SPT), Staci Saltz (CTA), Alyssa Donohue (support)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Tony Weaver

CHARGE: To implement and strategize policies and procedures related to the school, its departments and academic programs including budget, releases, staffing, implications on students, university service, etc. To successfully guide revised department curricula through the faculty governance model and all university and school committees to successful implementation.

AWARDS AND COMPETITIONS COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Colin Donohue (chair/JOU), Brandon Booker (CTA), JP Lavoie (CDE), Katie Stansberry (STC)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Identify appropriate student competitions for the School of Communications. Evaluate applications for and award student creative grants. Make recommendations for awards that recognize outstanding personal and professional achievement of School of Communications students and alumni.

COM CORE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Vic Costello (chair), Jessica Gisclair, Laura Lacy, Harlen Makemson, Amber Moser

CHARGE: To guide conversations and provide recommendations to the school faculty and leadership regarding the School's communications core curriculum.

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (Elected each February)

Staci Saltz (CTA, chair 2022-2024), Rebecca Bagley (CDE, 2022-2024), Israel Balderas (JOU, 2022-2024), David Bockino (MEA 2023-2025); Barbara Miller Gaither (STC, 2023-2025), Phillip Motley (IME, 2022-2024), Alex Traugutt (SPT, 2023-2025)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Tony Weaver

DEAN DESIGNEE: Vic Costello

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Consider changes to Communications majors and courses in conjunction with the university's curriculum committee and processes. Evaluate the school's and department's assessment instruments and use the assessment findings to create changes to loop back into the curriculum.

DIVERSITY COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Lee Bush (chair/STC), Jessalyn Strauss (STC), Mark Cryan (SPT), Lorraine Ahearn (JOU), Karen Lindsey (STC), Young Do Kim (SPT)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Continue the implementation and evaluation of the School of Communications diversity plan; investigate ways to enhance the international and domestic initiatives of the plan.

HEALTH COMMUNICATIONS TASK FORCE

MEMBERS: Julie Lellis (chair/STC), Michele Lashley (STC), Barbara Miller Gaither (STC), Bill Anderson (STC)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Spearhead implementation of the proposed minor and explore deeper collaborations with academic programs on campus and the Health EU institutional priority.

UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND TEACHER/SCHOLAR/MENTOR COMMITTEE

(COM 4970 faculty and SPT research)

MEMBERS: Harlen Makemson (chair/CDE), Shaina Dabbs (SPT), Jane O'Boyle (STC), Byung Lee (CDE), Brooks Fuller (JOU), Kai Swanson (CTA)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Plan teaching development programs and SURF day faculty scholarship presentations; make recommendations on how to enhance the School of Communications intellectual climate; and, in conjunction with the School Elon Journal and Undergraduate Research Committee, consider ways to involve faculty in undergraduate research mentorships. Explore and promote undergraduate research including Lumen, SURF, NCUR, Honors.

ELON SPORTS VISION STEERING COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Max Negin* (chair/CTA), Kenn Gaither, Claire Geary (staff), Jason Chandler (Athletics), Patrick Cunningham (Athletics), Christopher Waters (IT)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: To provide support for and evaluation of Elon Sports Vision and associated cohort, and collaborate on high-quality student production and coverage of Elon sporting events.

FELLOWS COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Dave Bockino (chair and Fellows Director/SPT), Michele Lashley (STC), Jenny Jiang (CDE), Kelly Furnas (JOU), Doug Kass (CTA)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Tony Weaver

CHARGE: Review and implement the Fellows selection process; select class and organize program elements for Communications Fellows.

SCHOOL STAFF COUNCIL

MEMBERS: Maggie Mullikin (co-chair), Catherine Kerns (co-chair), Colin Donohue, Amber Moser, Alison Doherty, Tommy Kopetskie, Bryan Baker, Abby Igoe, Alyssa Donohue, Shannan Bowen, Brooks Fuller, Claire Geary

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: To assist with the climate and with non-teaching operations of the School of Communications.

MEETS: As needed

TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Bryan Baker (chair), Dan Haygood (STC), Ray Johnson (CTA), Bill Squadron (SPT), Randy Piland (CDE), Matt Blomberg (JOU), Watricia Shuler (CTA)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Monitor developments in technology and consider School of Communications needs; draft an annual recommendation of technology needs.

INTERACTIVE MEDIA/GRADUATE TASK FORCE

MEMBERS: Derek Lackaff (chair), Brian Walsh (CDE/MEA), Phillip Motley (CDE), Brandon Booker (CTA), Kai Swanson (CTA), Nicole Triche (CTA), Qian Xu (STC/MEA), Dan Haygood (STC), Amanda Sturgill (JOU/MEA); Allie Duffney (GA), Maggie Mullikin (staff), Pratheep Paranthaman (CS)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: Reimagine the interactive media master's program to increase enrollment while maintaining program quality and distinctiveness. Consider the program modality, degree offering, concentration areas and the previously envisioned low residency model. Explore options such as cross-listing courses and the role of Elon Regional Learning Centers (such as Charlotte) for interactive media. Lead discussions toward this Elon Institutional Priority, captured verbatim: "Review and restructure the iMedia program considering options for modality and scheduling of coursework for working professionals. Plan for regional center expansion in 2025."

AI WORKING GROUP

MEMBERS: Bill Anderson (STC), Chris Chen (CDE), Doug Kass (CTA), Michele Lashley (STC), Jessalyn Strauss (STC), Amanda Sturgill (JOU), Brian Walsh (CDE), Shannon Zenner* (CDE), Ahmed Fadaam (CDE), Byung Lee (CDE), Alex Traugutt (SPT), Sowjanya Kudva (CTA), Abby Shamblin (student), Don Grady (exofficio)

ADMINISTRATIVE LIAISON: Kenn Gaither

CHARGE: To serve as an incubator for school AI initiatives; to discuss AI, its impact on the school and its disciplines and to provide guidance toward school policies and best practices on AI.

^{*} on leave for part of academic year